Chapel on the Lake (310)

I try to time my visits to see my mother so that I am here on Sunday.  That was we can go to chapel at the University Yacht Club.  My dad was a prime mover in the Chapel when he was alive, and his presence is very much still there.  His ashes are buried in the garden at the base of the building.  My mom attends whenever she can get a ride from Gainesville.

It was a perfect summer morning, quite unusual for Georgia at this time of year.  It was not beastly hot, and a late frost has kept the bug population to manageable size.  After the service, we went to brunch in the clubhouse, and then walked the grounds.IMG_2641 IMG_2642 IMG_2653The highlight of the tour was a visit to my dad’s memorial bench.  He shares the bench with his friend Furman.  That would have made them both very happy.

IMG_2646 IMG_2649The afternoon was spent helping  mom do various errands.  She is blind and  so requires assistance beyond the bus transportation provided by her community.  Our final errand was to the grocery store, where we picked up rotisserie chicken and various sides to take to my sister’s house for supper.  My two nephews, fresh from working all day moving Brian into a new house, stopped by briefly before heading out to watch True Blood with friends.

IMG_2654

 

Leave a Reply

