Daily Archives: February 26, 2009

The haircut

There is one thing that is more final than signing up for the cross country, training for it, equipping, organizing, and packing for it.  It is even more final even than paying the balance due.   That is the act of getting my hair cut in a style that will be easy-care all the way across the country.    I discussed the dilemma with my stylist when I last saw her in January.  She assured me that she knew just what to do.  She is an excellent hair stylist, and a very nice person.  Nevertheless, I have a love-hate relationship with her, because every now and then she seems to completely forget how I usually wear my hair and just makes something up.   The last time this happened, she imagined me with really short hair, and I felt scalped for a month.  It was, she told me, a “precision” cut.  I had to admit that as my hair grew out, it grew out in a great shape.

I suspect that her idea of a haircut that is completely care free, ready to wash and go, is another “precision” cut.  Fortunately, the stakes are lower this time, since I’ll be spending so much of my time during the critical grow-out period in a bike helmet.  I have surmounted all of the other challenges in preparing for this trip, and tomorrow, I’ll meet this one head-on.  If there are no pictures of me in this blog without a helmet on for the next couple of months  youll know the reason.