Daily Archives: January 28, 2009

A family of Duke fans

I spent my undergraduate years at Duke University, and I imprinted on the Blue Devils.  The summer before I was to start Duke a friend of mine from Atlanta who was a year ahead of me invited me to join him for the first home game of the year.  We went, and I was hooked.  In those days the Devils weren’t nearly as good as they are now.  Nevertheless, the student body was endlessly enthusiastic.   While we didn’t have to camp in tents for days in order to get tickets, kville-3the student section was always packed.  We might lose, but we never were out-cheered.

cheering

Duke is currently ranked as the top team in the nation.  There are a number of excellent teams (some of which are in our own conference) that could easily contest that honor.  But tonight Duke will take the floor as the favorite against an excellent Wake Forest team (itself ranked #1 only a week ago.)

How is my family going to work to assure that the Devils come out on top?    Matthew will be online, ready to IM at commercials and video chat at the half.  He’ll be wearing his Duke slippers, slippersand a DUKE shirt.   img_7399Lindsay and Casey will be at a sports bar, since they don’t have TV.  Ditto Alex, although his partisanship has to be kept a little under wraps, since he lives in North Carolina and he may encounter Wake fans.  Or UNC fans.  Their motto is “anyone but Duke.”  I’ll be wearing my Duke earrings, earrings1my Duke t-shirt, and my Duke socks.

And the little guys will get into the act too.

p1030175

img_0729